trish bendix

I like reading a book without a last page

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on October 22, 2008

I recently signed up to participate in NaNoWriMo, which means as of Nov. 1, I’ll have 30 days to write 50,000 words. I am a pretty quick writer when it comes to non-fiction and my short fiction stories, but a novel is going to be, uh, a little different, I’m sure.

My dad asked me what my inspiration was, when I told him I was ready for the challenge. Since then, I’ve come to the conclusion I’ve been really inspired by my neighborhood lately, from this house just around the corner from me that I just discovered, hidden behind condos, and the alleyways that intersect, serving as a crossing path for several of those who live in on the streets between Division and Milwaukee. I’m already visualizing where the people and places will fit in, from the bakery to the man who worships his five feet of grass and garden he has next to the city sidewalk.

I didn’t mean it to be, but I think it’ll end up being very Chicago-driven. This is all before I’ve written a word. I can’t, that would be cheating.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie said, on October 23, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Just checked out that site…interesting stuff! I think if I was to attempt to write a novel in 30 days I’d also have to start the search for a new girlfriend in December! How many hours a day would be required to come up with 50,000 words one wonders???

  2. Megan said, on October 25, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    you can do it, girl!

  3. swift said, on October 28, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    i’ve completed two nanowrimos! i cannot rave enough about the benefits of turning of the inner-editor and going for that 50,000 word count.

    good luck and godspeed


Leave a Reply

