trish bendix

Searching for a home

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on October 1, 2008

This weather is perfect for coffee, candles and jackets. This is my kind of season. It really works out well with my being a homebody and wanting to go to bed early to read (presently: The Time Traveler’s Wife, after much prodding from Jamie who keeps saying “You have to read it before the movie comes out!”)

So far, I enjoy the book, but I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I know the places Henry and Clare are visiting. I live in Chicago, and I grew up in Michigan. I’m familiar with South Haven, where Clare is from and I’ve been to the venues and museums and streets that they walk.

Unfortunately, these places won’t be the setting for the film, which was filmed in Toronto. Oh, Canada.

I read a study not too long ago that people most enjoy films that are set in their home city. I could see how this might be true. After all, I really can’t explain why I liked My Big Fat Greek Wedding enough to purchase it (OK, well I can, but I don’t think anyone cares, to be honest). But it occurred to me, while watching Stranger Than Fiction the other day, that I do enjoy the tie to my city. When I lived in L.A., I especially felt the need to watch films set in Chicago. I missed it so badly.

But now I’m here, so watching a movie because it is here, too, doesn’t really have the same kind of nostalgic feeling it had when I was attempting to do my own time travel back to the Midwest in 2003. It must be some kind of weird validation, like hometown pride.

I’m basically one of the Cubs fans at Daley Plaza, going insane over the prospect of being recognized as good enough by other people from elsewhere.

Strangely, I never felt this way about Michigan. I never had to watch 8 Mile to fill myself with joy. This must be home.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie said, on October 6, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I loved that book and Jamie is right- you wouldn’t enjoy it after hearing about/seeing the movie. I’m one of those people who never read a book once they’ve seen the movie…I’m happy to take people at their word when they say “the movie was good but the book is better”! I’ve just read “Shadow of the Wind” again…I’d recommend it.


Leave a Reply

