trish bendix

I’m guilty of this, you should know this

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on September 18, 2008

Jamie asked me the other day, “Why haven’t you updated your blog?”

The honest answer: the only things I’ve been doing are working, watching fall television, keeping Lola from falling off the couch during her naps, and working out at my new gym. I’m pretty much the picture of boring when it comes to blog-worthiness.

Yet, I’ve come up with some stuff that I might actually care to read about myself one day, looking back on what I was doing in September 2008.

The first installment of Queer Women to Watch is up on AfterEllen today, which is exciting because it’ll be a regular story each quarter featuring super talented queer ladies. For this go-around, I profiled Cameron Esposito, Von Iva, Cristy Road and Megan Holmes, all of whom I’m a fan of. (Cristy will be reading with Michelle Tea in Chicago next week as part of Estrojam Decibelle, which I hope to make it out to.)

The lovely and talented An Horse have signed a record deal in America, which makes me extremely happy as their Company EP is on my top 10 list of 2008. From the press release:

Australian indie duo An Horse, comprised of Kate Cooper and Damon Cox, have signed to mom&pop via Sara Quin, who met the pair during one of Tegan and Sara’s Australian tours. “Kate’s lyrics about love, relationships and the tendency to fixate on disabling neurosis in oneself have become my mission statement,” said Quin, who will A&R their full-length debut, scheduled for January 2009 release. “I get goose bumps, electrical currents running up my arms listening to them – I love this band.” An Horse just wrapped up a series of Australian dates with Death Cab for Cutie and will play October 22 at 205 in NY, NY as part of the 2008 CMJ Music Marathon & Film Festival. The duo will launch a U.S. tour on October 20 in Arlington, VA.

Incredibly exciting. Speaking of Tegan and Sara, I did an interview with their creative director, Emy Storey, who is not only multi-talented in the way of art, but a wonderful conversationalist. I think the story will be a good one.

Since I recently did a Tegan interview as welI, think my boss assumes I have some sort of Quin obsession of sorts, but really, it’s just worked out that every lesbian they touch turns to gold. No wonder so many young gays want to touch them.

But just because it’s already been so T&S related, I’ll include a hilarious video from Spinner (courtesy of My Girlfriend is a Homo).

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on September 18, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    shut up, you are SO exciting! I sit at home everyday going “I wonder what Trish and Jamie are up to today? hmm……….”

    xoxo

  2. jenny said, on September 18, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Where is your new gym? I recently decided I should exercise at some point in my life…

  3. jamie said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:21 am

    you’re a queer woman to watch. thanks for the blog update i demanded. but i have a lot of fun at the gym, i don’t know what you’re talkin’ about. it’s getting dark at 7=total hibernation-nation

  4. chubby said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Appropriate that today is “Celebrate the Birth of the Quin Twins” day.

  5. trishbendix said, on September 19, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I work out at Cheetah in Bucktown, Jen. They have some awesome classes there. So far I’ve done boxing and one called “Buts and Guts.” I surely felt them afterward. Days afterward.

  6. Alice said, on September 21, 2008 at 11:08 am

    When are we gonna be able to read those interviews of Emy and Tegan? I seriously can’t wait, they are two amazing people.

  7. clara said, on September 24, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    This is awesome, I love your blog and your pposts on After Ellen. Lol the vid was hilarious!


Leave a Reply

