trish bendix

Rivers run interstate, Michigan!

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on August 22, 2008

I think what I appreciated most about my three-day mini-vacation to Saugatuck was that I could easily relax. There aren’t too many things to do in the small arts town of Michigan, so if I’m laying by the lake or walking around the short stretch they refer to as “downtown,” I never feel like I’m missing all of the other things I should be cramming into my allotted vacation time.

Staying at a bed and breakfast certainly helps, too. We stayed at a great place called Sherwood Forest off Douglas Beach with a pool and a themed “Tree Tops” suite. It really, really is as rural as I will go (and it had a fireplace, so that tells you how much I’m into “nature”). Waking up to someone making you untraditional breakfast like carrot ginger muffins or cinnamon french toast is definitely better than a continental breakfast with weak coffee at the Best Western.

Jamie and I spent time laying in the sun and swimming, but the most exciting parts were in the doing of things like a nighttime boat ride on the river into the lake and settling in on a swingset to watch the sunset. The shops were very gift-themed, with a few select stores selling clothing of the Eurotrash or old woman variety (save for one that sold some Betsey Johnson swimsuit items). We were able to find a few to our liking, though, like a completely unorganized bookstore with books simply stacked on top of one another and shoved in corners among Native American knick-knacks. Mixed in with local history books and copies of New Mexico Magazine were newer novels by David Sedaris and Dave Eggers. I found what I was looking for: a paper back copy of Rubyfruit Jungle. (Myopic is always out.)

Because I’m the ultimate gay person, I also purchased a Brandi Carlile CD. The one music store in town, Open Door, professes the owner is a “music physician” who will prescribe you something you will like. The store is very heavy on vocalists and singer/songwriters, especially of the queer kind (I spotted Indigo Girls, Ani DiFranco, Melissa Ferrick, Missy Higgins, and Sia all in clear view). The “Dr.” asked what I’d been listening to, which is hard when you’re constantly listening to different stuff and you don’t always like all of it. I picked up a copy of The Story, and he offered to play it for me. The title track was good (later I found out it was one of the songs Brandi didn’t write) and so I gave the Dr. the benefit of the doubt. On the car ride home, though, I made the ultimate decision that I just wasn’t that into her. Her songwriting partner, though, did a great job with the one song.

I bought my new nephew a bib that says “Peanut,” which only proves further that I’m turning into one of those crazed baby lovers I always said I’d never be. But I can’t help his adorability (totally not a word, but should be).

Julian was able to come home from the hospital finally and he seems to be doing well. The stroke he had in utero hasn’t affected anything since his seizure coming out of the womb. Now his only problem is surviving his recent circumcision. Yikes.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gwen said, on August 28, 2008 at 6:32 am

    I was totally with you re:brandi carlile. I bought her album and it thought was okay, except for The Story, that totally rocked. Then I went to one of her concerts…See her live and it will blow you away! BTW, I did like her 1st album better.

  2. mandy4mck said, on September 2, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Congrats Auntie Trish! Your photos make me miss that part of the world. A friend of mine used to dock her boat across the river in Douglas. It is so beautiful. Miss you much.


Leave a Reply

