trish bendix

I could tell it wouldn’t be long

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on July 29, 2008

Today I went to speak with the young ladies of Girls Rock Chicago about rock and activism. I came prepared with song lyrics from Le Tigre and Helen Reddy’s “I Am Woman” and a Joan Jett page from the Feminist Coloring Book. (By the end of the time I was there, Joan had some seriously radically colored hairstyles that she should consider IRL.)

The young ladies were as attentive as you can be, I suppose, though of course I felt completely boring and like I should be watching them instead. Talking to a couple of them about their bands and their prospective instruments made me envious that I didn’t have such a camp to attend at age 9. (Instead I was at basketball camp for several years and attended one year of “writing camp” at Western Michigan University. I wrote a story about a red panda escaping from the zoo. These girls are writing rock songs!)

I asked about some of the injustices they face at school, and unfortunately hands shot up. One girl complained that they don’t have as many sports as the boys do; another said the girls don’t get to have mirrors in their bathrooms but boys can; another said girls get in trouble for things like burping while the boys do it without consequence. We shared equal disdain over dress code inequality.

There will be 17 girl bands performing this Saturday at Metro. If you’re in Chicago, you should come out and support them. I am hoping at least one of them will be singing about not being able to wear skirts above the knee while boys can wear thigh-high shorts provided generously by the middle school sports funding committee.

Leave a Reply

