trish bendix

Bang on

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on July 23, 2008

Amanda came into town and we did everything on her check list except for visit the beach (thanks for your continued innaccuracy, Weather.com). We went to the Jeff Koons exhibit at the MCA, to see her friend in Kink at Second City, and we ate at several vegetarian-friendly restaurants (specifically those with sandwiches.) We also discovered a Melissa Etheridge fanzine, which was quite explicitly sexual in nature. She mistakenly left it here, though. (Don’t worry Amanda, I will send it to you.)

Most importantly, we went to see The Dark Knight at the IMAX theater. It was my first IMAX experience, and I think I enjoyed the movie that much more having seen it on an enlarged 3D screen. The excitement around Navy Pier (and bursting out of Rachel for weeks on end prior) was enough to get me excited like I used to be for going to concerts when I was younger (you know, before they became so accessible to me.) And though Maggie Gyllenhaal is much more my style, I have to admit I was quite fond of Heath Ledger (R.I.P.) and Christian Bale in the film. (I’m really hoping the latter isn’t part of the He-Man Women Hitter’s Club.)

It felt like the first official week of summer to me. I can’t decide if this is good or bad, or par for the course of growing up and being partnered (which makes me sound 80, I know).

On that note, I felt very young today when interviewing Amy Ray. Jamie asked me how it felt to be interviewing someone who means so much to so many people when I have less of an attachment. I actually think it was a little more freeing, especially since the questions were coming from fans on AE who had very creative questions, things they truly wanted to know about her, from her chest tattoo details to what helps her through her depression. It doesn’t hurt that she also answered very honestly and openly, unlike some interviews who are much more guarded. I can appreciate honesty in anyone.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on July 24, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    yay summer!!!!

  2. S said, on August 10, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Re: Christian Bale – no he’s a good one.

    As anyone who has ever dealt with a mentally ill relative knows, sometimes you just have to push your way out of the situation for some breathing room.

    Doesn’t mean you are violent or do not love them.

    Bu their chemical brain imbalance sometmes renders them unable to recognise emotions beyond their own physical boundaries and normal interaction etiquette.


Leave a Reply

