trish bendix

A diary means yes indeed

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on July 9, 2008

If I ever were even considering the notion of moving out of the city, all you have to do is show me the movie listings of the small town or suburb I had for some reason thought of relocating to. That would be enough to change my mind in an instant. Over the weekend, my dad decided we should have a family cinema experience, and from the select few options we had, he chose The Love Guru.

Besides a brief Mariska Hargitay cameo, I wasted two hours of my life (but at least not my own money.) It’s sad to me how so much money and effort is spent on making and marketing films like The Love Guru, especially in comparison to the small films that are so much more worthy of being seen and experienced.

This is the conclusion I came to today, after starting my own personal Catherine Breillat movie marathon. Watching A Real Young Girl right after seeing the aforementioned Mike Meyers movie really shocks the senses (at least mine.) I opened an account at Odd Obsession and took out two of her films I hadn’t seen, and the kindly gentleman working told me her new film, The Last Mistress, is playing at Landmark this weekend. Something tells me my parents will not be getting this at their local cineplex.

Breillat movies make me wish that I wrote a diary and lived in rural France in the summertime (so does Swimming Pool, for that matter.) Unfortunately, I don’t know any French, but I do love the sound of it. (My boss is there for two weeks right now. She is so lucky to be hearing these accents!)

So apparently I’m a Francophile suddenly. I just realized this today when I thought about the book I’m reading — Charmed Circle: Gertrude Stein and Company. Very, very French (and somewhat strange that I happen to be reading this around our Independence Day.)

Speaking of, the holiday was nice, despite my dad’s poor choice in movie-going. I have a hard time relaxing sometimes, but I handled it fairly well. I keep having to remind myself it’s summer sometimes. That’s it — I’m moving to the French countryside and riding my bicycle to the market once a week for wine and bread and cheese.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. j said, on July 9, 2008 at 3:33 am

    mariska hargitay! but you don’t have a bicycle! (funny that in France, it’s automatically a “bicycle” and not just “bike”). we should take french lessons. parlez-vous….uh, you?

  2. Pamela said, on July 9, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Hi Trish. I can’t believe it’s taken you this long to become a francophile, but I’m glad you’ve finally made the leap.

    I’m also a professional (and recreational) writer/blogger and last year I launched a social network for francophiles. You’re welcome to come and ride your bike to the market virtually until you’re doing it for real.

    Hope to see you there! Pamela

    http://www.francophilia.com


Leave a Reply

