trish bendix

Still I never meant to go away, I was raised in this place

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on July 1, 2008

Pride officially came and I went, and I had no part in it. I’m a bad queer this year. In my defense, I felt very proud as Jamie and I moved by ourselves. We were determined, and we were able to make the five block move on our own. Jamie even made up a song to the tune of Tina Turner’s “Private Dancer”: “I’m your tiny butch, driving your U-haul, moving your furniture, too.” It was very entertaining.

I keep telling everyone that we each cried out of frustration once, but really we held it together very well, even when our shelf broke in the stairwell and Sears screwed up our mattress order so badly we eventually canceled it after three nights of sleeping on the hardwood floor.

We were ambitious enough to paint my office and the living room, though, and miraculously discovered that a co-worker of Jamie’s had a girlfriend selling her queen mattress less than a block away from us. I slept so well last night!

I thought I might be sad or nostalgic about leaving the old place, but I haven’t felt that way. It must be my new dishwasher, or the central air, or perhaps, my very own office. It’s a lovely shade of Iced Mint. It will actually be in print very soon, as I’m being featured in an upcoming issue of Venus Zine for being a “professional blogger.” Validation that those do, indeed, exist.

I also recently committed to hosting a workshop for the Girls Rock! Chicago Camp at the end of this month. I’ll be talking to the young ladies about women using music in protest. I want to buy them all the Coloring Outside the Lines feminist coloring books from Riot Grrrl Ink and play them Sleater-Kinney. Maybe I will!

But first, this weekend I’ll be spending with my parents in Michigan. I look forward to a 4th of July BBQ and shopping for some more things for my place in suburbia, where the tax percentage is significantly lower.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamie said, on July 2, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    i’m never moving again. serious. if we ever leave this place (because we went crazy), we’re getting movers. good thing we got rid of so much stuff beforehand.

    i’m psyched for grilled corn and suburban fest. woo!


Leave a Reply

