trish bendix

Hypotheses on why Carrie Brownstein will not respond to my interview requests

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on June 25, 2008

1. She is not that gay.

She is totally out, but isn’t into being known as a lesbian. Like, lesbian writer, lesbian musician, lesbian Brownstein, etc.

2. She is in love with me.

Carrie knows she can’t help but have strong feelings about me based upon my stunning Internet prowess and she is no homewrecker. (It says on MySpace I am married.)

3. She doesn’t do interviews.

OK I get it – Spin outed you and you’ve probably had a million other misquotes since then. But I promise, it can be a Q&A. I will record it. It will be especially correct if we do the interview in person. My place or yours?

4. She’s afraid I will tell her the correct way to make use of the em dash for her blog.

Don’t feel bad – it happens to the best of us.

5. She thinks I am going to ask her stupid questions about a Sleater-Kinney reunion or if she’s single.

I make no promises.

6. She’s way too busy.

I work from home with no set schedule. I am around at 3:40 a.m. central if she is best reached at 1:40 a.m. Pacific time. I might possibly even settle for an e-mail interview, but I don’t understand why anyone ever thinks those take less time.

7. She once dated a girl named Trish, thus a negative association.

You can call me Patty, or “hey you” or nothing at all. Just answer the phone and say, “Carrie here. Shoot!”

8. An interview is too formal.

We’re meant to be BFFs. When we do converse, it will be totally cool and not under the guise of me asking things like “Is this a good time?” Of course it’s a good time – we’re palsies.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on June 26, 2008 at 2:14 am

    hilarious. maybe she’s just jealous that you have a black pug and she’s always wanted one but all the breeders in portland have only fawns. but yes, i think you’re meant to be BFFs. which means i get to hang too. don’t worry, i’ll cook.

  2. jenny said, on June 26, 2008 at 3:50 am

    lolz.

    i interviewed corin tucker for the chron and found a tape of it a few weeks ago when i was packing. ali and i listened to it and realized that she sounded extremely annoyed by me throughout the entire interview. maybe the s-k ladies are anti-interview. or maybe i just asked really lame questions…which is very likely for jenny circa 2003.

  3. chubby said, on June 27, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Actually, I think she’s too busy turning down my interviews to do yours.


Leave a Reply

