trish bendix

I’m here to keep my eye on her

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on June 17, 2008

My sister is meant to be a mother and a wife. I’m not sure if she ever had dreams of the typical white dress and church, but I think she’s always known that it was in her destiny to have a husband and a child. I never felt that, or had that urge, so I trust that as my own private validation that I’m just not meant to be a mother, despite everyone telling me that this could very well change. I’m not sure if it’s that I’m selfish or that I’m actually selfless (I’d like to believe the latter). What could I offer a child when I have so much I want to do for myself? (OK, I’m thinking it’s actually “selfish” on this one.)

Katelyn has been a glowing pregnant woman, though. I think she’s actually gotten hit on more now that she’s “with child.” She’s really showing now, in her third trimester, despite her refusal to wear maternity clothes. At her shower, she received all kinds of things for Julian to wear and sit on and play with when he’s finally out in the world.

OK, I can’t help it, I have to stop: babies are boring. I realize that I could possibly change my mind at some point, but honestly, I was having anxiety about picking out a gift because I wasn’t familiar with technical terms such as “boppies” and “diaper genies.” Suffice it to say, Katelyn’s baby shower was successful, but I’m certainly glad I won’t have to think of any baby-themed games in the future ever again. (Friends, please don’t get pregnant. Thanks!)

Surely my sister must think this is all exciting. If I was having some sort of shower with things I like or for an event I was looking forward to, I know I would. Someone can throw me a Lollapalooza shower before August 1st. Buy me water bottles, sun block and a fanny pack so I’m prepared for this momentous event. Or you could throw me a moving shower: boxes would come in handy. Seriously, modern shower planning. Let’s get on top of this, especially my fellow queer-folk who don’t get celebrated as many times as we should in life (at least as individuals: we all share Pride).

Basically, I’m glad it’s her and not me. I’m sure she feels the same way.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jenny said, on June 18, 2008 at 6:17 am

    trish! i have a bajillion boxes! i am happy to donate! 🙂


Leave a Reply

