trish bendix

Welcome to the good life

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on May 16, 2008

My trip to New York was busy. I wish I could have had one more day to do the things I left undone, like go to the Whitney but I did manage to do most of what I’d set out for. I met my new boss in person, I successfully remained calm while public speaking on the panel, and I completed my orientation. I’m officially an employee of MTV Networks and I have the awkward ID photo to prove it.

Luckily, I was able to see my old high school buds, and they are all doing very well: Jene works at Time Inc., Jem at Cherry Lane Publishing, Sooj at a LES art gallery, and Kristen just returned from playing the lead in the touring version of 42nd Street. We were able to talk between brunch and a Manhattan rooftop party for two of Kristen’s friends who were throwing a “We’re Still Together” get-together. I guess that is what lesbians are doing now, so look for your invitations around Jamie and my next anniversary (October 7).

We stayed with Amanda two nights, but she had a family wedding on Saturday so we stayed one night with Jem. Oddly, they live four blocks from one another in Astoria, so getting around was actually quite easy. Queens was actually much more alive than I expected it to be, and I enjoyed my time exploring it as much as I did the time I spent in Manhattan and Williamsburg. (Still, not enough time.)

On the plane I read Live Through This: On Creativity and Self-Destruction. It’s is a book of essays and other work by female artists such as Nan Goldin, bell hooks, Eileen Myles, Inga Muscio, Cristy C. Road and Bonfire Madigan Shive. The title is actually very literal, and it was an interesting read as most of the work comes down to the idea that madness is not necessarily helpful to the creative parts of you; it’s only when you can control yourself that your work will be at its best. I think that going into it, I didn’t expect that to be the “moral of the story,” so it was a surprise but also something I can relate to.

Tuesday morning, I was at my desk and ready to begin the new job, and I stayed glued there most of the day. Jamie was nice enough to trade me desks so now I have the window spot and much more space. I’ll probably miss it when we move in July, but I really hope I can find another sunny spot to keep my newly organized folders, CDs, and typewriter items.

So far, my only issue with working from home is that Stella wants to sleep on my lap, pretty much all the time. I’m trying to wean her off of it, and it’s been working slowly but surely. I think she appreciates my being here in general, and our mid-day walks.

I’m quickly learning the ropes of the blog, and also participated in my first Best.Lesbian.Week.Ever. so I’d say my first week with AfterEllen has pretty much been a success. The gals that work there are fabulous and so very helpful. I feel very lucky to be part of the team.

That being said, if you don’t hear from me on weekdays, it’s probably fair to assume I’m in blog overload. Don’t worry–I’m more than fine.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on May 16, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    you’re the balm. and stella loves your new job. i’ve never seen a happier pug, really.


Leave a Reply

