trish bendix

Like that one good Hole album we can live through this

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on May 9, 2008

Thursday may be the new Friday, but today just feels crazy. In fact, this week has been intense. I was in Milwaukee yesterday for the An Horse & Tegan and Sara show all day, which was fun but possibly ill-timed as I’m leaving for New York tomorrow. Nonetheless, I spent the day with Megan, who accompanied me from Veggie Bite to the city of beer to meet with Kate of An Horse and putz around town before the show. Across from the venue, we stumbled into the Newsroom Pub, which was fascinating to me as its like the Billy Goat of Milwaukee (a journalist hangout that has a long history with the city’s press club and chalk autographs from writers and reporters.) Yes, I’m a geek.

The show was at the appropriately named Pabst Theater where I felt old amongst the growing Tegan and Sara fanbase, which appears to be getting younger and younger. Megan and I attempted to analyze “the Tegan and Sara fan,” which really wasn’t very different from the fans at pop concerts I attended when I was thirteen. There were a large number of queer girls, certainly, but half could be constituted as questionable, and we wondered what it was that drew them to scream and bring presents for Tegan and/or Sara: the music? their approachability? their sisterly stage banter?

I’ve seen them play several times, so I was actually most interested in seeing An Horse, which is my new favorite band. I’m a huge advocate of their debut EP, Not Really Scared, which is available on iTunes. They’re from Australia so the trip up to Wisconsin was in lieu of their non-Chicago tour stop.

What made the night so entertaining, though, was that Tegan seemed to be making many mistakes. Early on, she was a beat behind on “I Bet it Stung.” Later on in the show, she forgot an entire verse to “I Know, I Know, I Know.” Megan thought she was drunk, but it could also be that it’s the end of their tour–the home stretch as it ends in a week. At any rate, it was odd to see them in sort of a disconnect. Usually the sisters are very in sync.

One thing I have to say about all ages shows is they get me home early. I can appreciate that, especially when the show was a road trip away. Getting home before one a.m. was a treat. I had Candace coming in to visit from Cleveland early this morning, and we went to breakfast at Milk & Honey before running errands in the neighborhood (Candace: find a job and apartment to move back to the city; me: find a dress and a pair of shoes as to not look like a total bum at Q-Me Con.) I was successful but Candace, so far, has not been. She has the rest of the weekend, though, and a loving fiancee who is helping her with the apartment factor. She remains optimistic.

Tonight I have to skip yoga to gather my things, pack, and hang out with Stella so she doesn’t have separation anxiety too badly. Okay–so I don’t have separation anxiety too badly.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on May 9, 2008 at 1:30 am

    i’m already having stella withdrawl–and she’s snoring right on me. =(

  2. Megan said, on May 9, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    <3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3
    YOU!

  3. candace corner said, on May 18, 2008 at 2:47 am

    i still remain optimistic.

    an consquently, idealistic. thinking that i can find both a job and apartment in a timely fashion.

    miss you boo. and jamie and stellie too.


Leave a Reply

