trish bendix

Six miles and running, dodgin’ every trap

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on April 21, 2008

I’ve been on the search for some good running shoes and over the weekend I finally found some. I had many rules about how my shoes should be–not Nike, not “too white,” not ugly, and in my size (11). These stipulations make finding shoes difficult to accomplish. I finally settled on a pair of grey New Balance shoes that don’t make my feet look huge and give me the illusion of being light on my feet. (They also, by default, are not Nike, white or ugly.)

However, it appears that I’ve now fallen victim to something that is particularly white of me. According to Stuff White People Like, we all own at least one pair of New Balances. Apparently, my wearing of NB’s and being an attempted jogger puts me in a category of “people who jog [who are] generally viewed as being better than white people who don’t.” This can’t be possible–I bought them at Kohl’s. Doesn’t that automatically eliminate me from being viewed as better than anyone else?

Then I read further down the SWPL blog and was further damned: white people like dinner parties. Does my mom write this blog? Stufflesbianslike.com is an entirely different story. Maybe this blog should change to Stuff Trish Likes in case anyone is confused.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on April 22, 2008 at 3:26 am

    Stuff Lesbians Like Part 5: The Post-Mullet

    is this why I have a date on Wednesday?

    hahahahha


Leave a Reply

