trish bendix

Hey straight girl, what’s your style?

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on April 18, 2008

Like the dork that I am, I read my horoscopes (when I remember to) on Astro.com because their customization of my birth city and time gives me false assurance in its asking for details. I do sometimes feel like it’s right on (enough), so I’ve maintained my irregular readings on the site.

Today was the first time I ever noticed the use of pronouns in my daily reading. It said:

On the positive side, you can use this time to tell someone that you love him.

I know better not to read my horoscopes in women’s magazines because they will certainly tell me I’ll meet “Mister Right Now” every other month (on the off months, they assume I’m single “and ready to mingle!”) But the “him” part of Astro.com was a little surprising to me as I have never come across it before. It definitely pulled me out of my “The Hills is totally real” ideals that I had about the horoscopes they provide me until I noticed the tiny fine print at the end:

The partner references are set for a relationship with a man.  Explanation

Um yes, explanation please (and don’t give me any bull shit about what’s normal, thanks. I don’t need this from the Internet, too.) So the first sentence in this explanation is a little along those lines (“You are a woman, and the text of this horoscope is worded accordingly where gender matters.”) Then it tells me what I already know ( “The default setting of the computer assumes that your relationship partner is male.”) But then it actually redeemed itself (“You can change this setting so that all references to a partner contain the correct wording for a female-female relationship.”)

To do so, I had to check next to the  symbol and suddenly my horoscope was much brighter:

On the positive side, you can use this time to tell someone that you love her.

Much better, Astro.com.

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on April 18, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    hahaha. so computers assume everyone is straight? must just be a pc thing. i bet most mac’s are gay by default. stupid pcs.

  2. Megan said, on April 19, 2008 at 12:02 am

    you could always switch over to astrology.com, where you can get your very own Lesbianscope, and Stella can get her Dogscope.


Leave a Reply

