trish bendix

You’re the matter of my secret heart

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on April 14, 2008

My mom came into town last week for a short visit. It was her Spring Break so she wanted to let loose in the city. So we put on “Sexy Back” per her request and let her have a dance party in our dining room. Then we took her to the new Oprah store in the West Loop where everything has an O on it and sells for three times its retail value. Of course, she had to pose by the show’s studios as well.

We lunched at Wishbone and then went thrifting in Andersonville. I found a couple of spring dresses that I can’t wait to wear this week when the 70s hit. I mistakenly donned one last Thursday when the rainstorms came down hard and soaked through my tights and flats. It was really a great idea to wear a dress that day.

That night, the rain stopped though and Jamie and I went to see Girl in a Comaat Ronny’s. I’m a little late to loving them as much as I do now, but they are the tightest threesome I’ve seen in a long time. I love their genre fluctuations, as they have elements of post-punk, ska, garage rock, pop, and Spanish punk in their music. Vocalist Nina Diaz was completely intense, and I loved watching her facial expressions while she never missed a note–on her guitar or in her voice.

Saturday, Jamie and I went to the monthly pug meet up, where Stella got to chase and be chased by a gaggle of other pugs in all colors and sizes. I chased some around myself. My favorite (besides Stella) was a chubby fawn named Leo who preferred people to the other pugs and scratched himself every time someone pet him.

Sunday, we had brunch with Rachel at Lula where they played Ludacris and we had a Chicago celeb sighting of Hannah from “LA Ink.” We stopped into Wolfbait and B-Girls after where Rachel contemplated buying a dress. She claims to have once owned a few for funerals.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamie said, on April 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    rachel + dress = unimaginable hilarity.
    i think i could imagine myself in one first.
    ugh, someday i will decide what i want for a half sleeve and track hannah down. (or go to lula every weekend just in case?)

  2. trishbendix said, on April 14, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    she is probably at lula every day. i mean, why not?

  3. Megan said, on April 14, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Hannah did my tattoo!!! but she wont return my emails for my free touch-ups. Rude!

    she’s so incredible though. It’s worth a wait.

  4. trishbendix said, on April 14, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    i meant to tell you megan…she said to please stop contacting her. she’s a star and she’s busy eating at lula.


Leave a Reply

