trish bendix

Some people have real problems

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on April 14, 2008

Over the weekend, I picked up a copy of the Advocate’s music issue. I saw on the cover there was an interview with Sia touting the fact that she’s indeed seeing a woman. I was surprised to see my interview with her mentioned a couple of times, in which Sia somewhat regrets being so open.

Obviously the speculation surrounding who Sia is dating is what has brought her this attention. It certainly must be a pain to have to hide who your partner is, especially when you are as excited about them as Sia was when we spoke. However, I think the press she’s gotten because of her “outing” has only helped her to become more popular with this album. I imagine she’s just getting tired of repeating everything now when writers who have obviously read my interview with her keep asking questions that have already been answered: yes, Sia’s seeing a woman; no, she won’t disclose who it is; no, she’s not a lesbian.

A large part of having a good interview with someone is having a fresh conversation. Honestly, who likes to be asked the same thing over and over and over when there are several of their answers available with a Google of their name? When I interviewed Kaki King after knowing she’d been doing phoners for three days, I asked her up front, “Are there any questions you don’t want to be asked?” She replied, “If you ask who my influences are, I might kill you.” I’m still alive.

Interviewing Sia about her relationship was a little different than most interviews–it was my first sort of “coming out” interview with someone who hasn’t even really given herself any sort of label or definition and is certainly not seeking one out–and that’s totally fine. However, now she knows that people like Perez Hilton aren’t going to let you get away that easy. They want to identify with you and for you to become some sort of role model and adopt you because you were Sia first, gay second, and that gives you some extra credibility.

Certainly, I’m glad to have Sia on our “team,” but what does it really mean for me, or for the gay community? It means the same thing it always has–sexuality is fluid, you fall in love with the person, not the gender or the sex or the genitals, even if they possibly might even belong to JD Samson.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamie said, on April 14, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    true that, girl!

  2. Megan said, on April 15, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    “you fall in love with the person, not the gender or the sex or the genitals,”

    This is the exact idea I keep trying to tell everyone that asks me “how’s the bi thing going?”

    People are called shallow if they only date tall tan blonde toned people, but its the same with genitals!!
    maybe I’m not making sense, it is quite early.
    But seriously!

    Can anyone fill in my missing link?


Leave a Reply

