trish bendix

Close your eyes and you’ll burst into flames

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on April 3, 2008

I went to see Kaki King play at the Empty Bottle last night. It’s the first chance I’ve ever had to see her live and I now believe her when she says her fans are mostly weirdo dudes. But her set was fabulous, and her musicianship is something that really has to be witnessed in person to truly be appreciated. (I can say that now, having experienced it first hand at such a small venue.)

Ironically enough, my second piece on her went up on Out.com today. I hope, for her sake, that Kaki doesn’t receive any of the Tegan and Sara fan hate mail that she’s anticipating. (T&S fans should have a name, like Clay Aiken’s are Claymates. They are probably the same kind of obsessed.)

Some exciting news: I’ll be heading back out East in about a month to NYC. I’ve been invited to moderate a panel for the Q-Me Con Women’s Summit on May 10. It’s called “Make an Impact (and a Living) through Music” and the panelists will be  sharing “valuable tips on the Do-It-Yourself music trade, and how you can make an impact with your music and still make a living.” It should be interesting and fun, especially with all these amazingly talented (queer!) women in one place.  That’s my kind of conference.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on April 3, 2008 at 2:15 am

    yay! i love trips that can be justified with something work-ish.

  2. Mags said, on April 3, 2008 at 5:09 am

    I’m totally loving Kaki’s cover of Love Stoned by JT. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uI7hP2qwITk.
    Between that and Tender Forever’s cover of My Love, I think ladies who love ladies love them some Timberlake.

  3. trishbendix said, on April 3, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Plus the Cliks’ cover of “Cry Me A River”= total lesbian tribute to JT.

  4. Ana said, on April 3, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I would love to read the Kaki King article, but either the site is off, or the link is wrong… any help with that?

  5. trishbendix said, on April 3, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Unfortunately I think their site has crashed! Hopefully they’ll get it back up today.


Leave a Reply

