trish bendix

We won’t put your patriarchal systems back together again

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on March 31, 2008

The Music Box is one of my favorite places in the city, and I don’t get there nearly enough. But when I saw that Teeth was coming to town, I planned in advance. Its first showing was last Friday evening, and Jamie and Megan joined me to see the campy horrorish yet heroic flick about vagina dentata. I enjoyed it, despite their being several cringe-worthy views of severed penises.

Afterward, we headed to Pick Me Up, which is always a nostalgic experience for me. I used to go to the 24-hour cafe when I was in college and not old enough to get into bars. Our friend Brandon works there now, so we waited for one of his tables to empty before we could be served.

Saturday, I went to Megan’s new place, which is a short walk from my apartment. It’s one of those that surely had to be described as “sunny” in the listing because it really is. I love places with lots of windows, despite their ability to become creepy and voyeuristically inviting at night.

We walked to the Arc Gallery for the last day of their exhibit, “Are We There Yet? 40 Years of Feminism.” The pieces were mostly from the ’90s through present day, but both Megan and I were really into the pieces they had selected. The Guerilla Girls had a few of their things displayed (such as their poster “Q. If February is Black History Month and March is Women’s History Month, what happens the rest of the year? A. Discrimination.”) A lot of local artists featured as well, touching on reproductive issues, body image, and misogyny.

After leaving the exhibit, Megan and I realized we had a very feminist weekend. She was about go to a roller derby match so she was ahead of me. I vowed to find a protest somewhere, but I didn’t get that far as I’d promised Rachel we’d head to Lava that night for a ladies’ party that said we should bring our “elite beauty” when we RSVPed. I bet they say that to all the girls.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on March 31, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Very fun weekend!

  2. Megan said, on March 31, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Also, I had a very puzzling thought yesterday.

    most closed minded people scuff, “oh feminists are just a bunch of man-hating lesbians”

    and other closed minded people go
    “oh, feminists are pro-abortion”

    so my thought is, why would lesbians deeply care about unplanned pregnancy?
    I mean, I know that they do, but closed minded people, they don’t see the connections.

    Lesbians typically don’t have sex with males, therefore do not risk the chance of an unwanted child.

    eh.

  3. trishbendix said, on March 31, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    i think it’s more about the idea that men attempt to control our bodies and our reproductive systems. also, being a woman in general, there’s always the threat of rape. sad but true.

    speaking for myself, i know it’s the former more than fear of the latter.


Leave a Reply

