trish bendix

Write about it in your tiny notebook

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on March 4, 2008

It’s National Grammar Day and on the official web site, they ask that you participate by doing the following:

If you see a sign with a catastrophic apostrophe, send a kind note to the storekeeper. If your local newscaster says “Between you and I,” set him straight with a friendly e-mail.

There is a convenience store down the street that has a sign in the window reading, “No Dog’s Allowed.” This is my chance!

I personally like MSN’s columnist’s take on why this day is important:

Good grammar is sexy
If matters besides school and work motivate you, consider this. We know a sex expert who teaches a class at her university called “Dirty 230.” This woman, who knows more about the art of love than probably anyone on the planet, will not date men whose personal ads contain grammar errors.

You can, perhaps, imagine what those men are missing (or not — we prefer to think about unicorns and rainbows, ourselves). Wouldn’t it have been better for them had they just learned their grammar in school, or picked up a remedial guide at the bookstore later?

This goes for women, too. I could never date someone with bad grammar! A friend of mine who I embarrass enough on this blog is dating someone who spells “said” wrong, and not on purpose. We had many discussions on if this was a reason to break off the relationship or not. However, this seemed like a “Seinfeld” thing to do, and she decided to stick it out. I just don’t think I could do it.
I am not saying I have impeccable grammar skills, but I do my best. I suppose I should join that Facebook group now–the one that’s called I Judge You When You Use Poor Grammar.
One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on March 5, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

    I love you.


Leave a Reply

