trish bendix

I try so hard to stop wasting my life

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on February 25, 2008

Friday was Kevin’s 29th birthday, so we naturally went to an adult arcade. I’d only been to Dave and Buster’s once before for a Chronicle Christmas party. I think it was a weeknight then because the place was dead and closed very early. Going on a Friday night was quite the opposite–the place was overrun with people past closing time at 1 a.m.

Everything is overpriced, of course, but the games can be fun if you stop thinking about all the money you put onto a card only to end up with a mug and left over points, and a stuffed animal just doesn’t seem worth carrying in the cab home. We used some of our points to get Kevin some Dave and Buster’s boxers which Kate insists he’ll wear. He wasn’t nearly as happy about those as he was about Kate’s gifts to him from Macy’s, such as a Sean Jean hoodie he instantly hugged and rubbed against his face. (I repeat, he’s 29.)

So many of the games in arcades remain the same from when Kate and I would beg my mom for quarters at the Crossroads Mall. I wonder at what age I decided to stop wasting my time and her money on games, and switched over to teen magazines or band t-shirts. I guess it probably happened about the time I started going to the mall with friends instead.

Saturday, Jamie and I went to Landmark to swim in the Bally’s pool and hot tub before finally seeing The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. I enjoyed it, as I expected I might. I think everyone has had their own “diving bell” moments of being unable to communicate exactly what they’re thinking or feeling. I know I hate feeling trapped, and had moments of it in my anxiety last year. Of course, Jean-Dominique Bauby was an extreme case, and Julian Schnabel captured it perfectly. I’ve listened to some interviews with him today, and especially enjoyed one with CNN Talk Asia in which he discussed his art as well as his filmmaking. It made me want to watch Basquiat.

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly is done well aesthetically, but I especially loved the sound, from the repetition of the French alphabet encouraging him to wink words, to the end song “Don’t Kiss Me Goodbye” as sung by Emmanuelle Seigner’s band, Ultra Orange and Emmanuelle. In the film, Emmanuelle plays Bauby’s ex lover and mother of his children.

We also took Stella to her new vet this weekend, and she needs to lose two pounds. The vet carefully asked, “Has anyone talked to you about her weight?” as if our feelings might be hurt. She needs to cut back on the peanut butter and eat some more carrot sticks, apparently.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on February 25, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    too bad we can’t take stella swimming with us. she’d surely lose those pesky two pounds in no time. i guess i’ll have to start eating popcorn in the other room. that pout kills me!


Leave a Reply

