trish bendix

I finish up my coffee, it’s time to catch the train

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on February 19, 2008

Jamie won’t usually say so, but she hates going to karaoke. I’ve dragged her to a bar with a microphone and television several times, and she’s always obliged me. I’ve sang since I was young, so I’m used to being on stage. Jamie likes to remind me that she once won a lip synch contest with the TLC song “Waterfalls” at her county fair, but yet she still hates any sort of public performance.

“But you’re so good!” I tell her. This never flies. After a lot of prodding and beers consumed, she’ll generally get up at the end of the night (alongside one of the other shy people in the bunch) and do something completely ridiculous like “Welcome to the Jungle” or “Do You Think I’m Sexy?” that she doesn’t know the words to, and hardly “sings” anyway. But that’s what karaoke is all about–we make fun of the people that take it seriously because no one is going to be “discovered” at Stargaze’s lesbian karaoke night, I assure you.

We used to go to karaoke with another couple a few years back, and after Stargaze shut down the mic at midnight, we’d go over to Hidden Cove, a dive with greasy food and karaoke 24/7. You could sing all night if you wanted, and the bartender doubles as the DJ so they don’t mind–it’s probably more entertaining than anything else going on at small out-of-the-way bars like that.

The friends we used to go with broke up after two years, and we had to split our time between the two of them. Begrudgingly, we went with one of them to the Hidden Cove, wondering if it might be awkward since it was certainly one of “their places.” But she brought along two straight friends who were interested in showing us what they were working with, over and over again. We were the only group in the bar, and these broads singing non-stop was almost as depressing as our friend’s constant state of drunkenness that had actually started pre-break-up but worsened after the fact.

I don’t know how it was decided–maybe because she was just bored–but Jamie signed up to sing “Tom’s Diner” by Suzanne Vega. When it came to be her turn, the others were playing pool or looking for other songs to sing, but I sat right up front and was mouthing along to the parts I know (pretty much only the “da da da da, da da da da, da da da da da da da da.”) It’s really quite a long song, and fairly monotone but just so hilariously charming, especially when I think about it now. She was on stage, by herself in this bar that we were dragged to out of empathetic guilt and yet no one was paying attention but me. It’s really such a solitary song, and there were parts of the song that I felt like she wanted to just get off the stage, but she stayed there and sang every last “da da.” It’s one of my favorite memories.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. j said, on February 19, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    and it’s one of my worst. haha. to think, it was my fave song in junior hight. lame!


Leave a Reply

