trish bendix

They lost their shape

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on February 18, 2008

I’ve never been a huge fan of heels or expensive shoes, but I went into Pump this weekend to find my sister some wedding heels and fell in love with these Betsey Johnson Chelsea pumps.

Besides the fact that spending almost $200 on a pair of shoes seems kind of crazy to me, and I have nowhere in particular to wear these amazing spectacles, I have an underlying issue: I have huge feet. Seriously–I wear a size 11 and can sometimes fit into a size 10, but not being a 7 or 8 or even a 9 is a major annoyance. I’ve met others who have this problem, and even have an acquaintance who buys her heels at drag queen stores (ironically, she’s a fashion journalist), but I am frustrated in shoe stores more often than I care to mention. Basically, I can never have a shoe fetish because it would just put me in a psych ward.

I miraculously found some boots in Akira this weekend (thank you, Diba), but the sales woman committed the same crime so many others have: “Your feet don’t look that big!” Because I am worried not about them fitting me, but about how they look. My feet may appear to be not so big, but they are, and it doesn’t put me in some Betsey Johnson’s by insisting they just can’t be a size 11.

Then I saw the other version of the shoes and I might just be over the edge and into Pump this weekend to shove my feet into a pair of 10s.

Leave a Reply

