trish bendix

Runnin’ the ball is like makin’ romance

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on February 5, 2008

My dad called me on Sunday and asked, “You are having a Super Bowl party?”

I am certainly an unlikely candidate to throw any kind of party for an NFL game, so I could understand his mocking curiosity. As his daughter, I’ve watched a lot of football, and most of it was not by choice. The only games I enjoy are those I’m personally invested in, so only the ones he’s coaching. He’s not the coach of the Patriots or the Giants, so when Poeta suggested we have a Super Bowl party, I agreed only because I have people over on Sundays anyway, and she likes to cook in excess.

I asked my dad who I should root for and he took this rather seriously. Since the Packers weren’t involved, he was complacent.

“Who has prettier colors?” I asked, because it’s funny to aggravate him with trivial questions regarding their uniforms.

“They are both red, white and blue.”

“Who has cuter players?” I asked, expecting a comment about how it shouldn’t matter to me, anyway.

“Well Tom Brady is cute, but Eli Manning is also attractive.” He proceeded to fill me on all the gossip about Tom Brady dating “a Victoria Secret model” and Bridget Moynahan being his baby mama. My dad, the gossip queen.

I watched the kick-off and part of the Tom Petty half-time show and that’s about all I remember of the Super Bowl. Instead, I was perplexed by the idea that Poeta made her own tortilla chips, and that Megan had Mountain Dew hair. This was all much more entertaining, and Dad, neither Tom Brady or Eli Manning are all that cute.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. j said, on February 5, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    best “super bowl” party ever. missin those chips!

  2. Kelli said, on February 5, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Eli will never be in Tom Brady’s league, NEVER!

  3. heather v. said, on February 5, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    ha, i always want the team with the better uniforms to win. the uniforms this year really were too similar. i only watched the end of the game because i was waiting for the show afterwards to come on.

    i also asked which team was dating jessica simpson. but i guess that team wasn’t even in the super bowl. that still wouldn’t have helped me to decide if i wanted them to win or lose.

  4. trishbendix said, on February 5, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    i love the enthusiasm by this tom brady fan.

  5. Megan said, on February 6, 2008 at 12:37 am

    I’m perplexed that it took you so long to pass me like a football!!!

  6. Sarah Corbin said, on February 7, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I’m sad I missed your party 😦

    Tom Brady is much better looking than Eli Manning, but I’d rather date Eli. He looks easier to please.


Leave a Reply

