trish bendix

And the law won

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on January 28, 2008

Over the weekend, Jamie and I went to Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outside Art. It’s one of my favorite places in the city, and so close to where I live, as an added bonus. Their newest exhibits were the Henry Darger Exhibition and Least Wanted: A Century of American Mugshots, The Mark Michaelson Collection.The latter was the draw for me, with the cards on the mugshots from the ’50s detailing crimes such as “fornication and vag” and 60 year old men who worked at Sears and stole tires to sell on their own time. Most of the men were dressed in suits, and many of the crime reports read “American” for white offenders and “Colored” for anyone else. Looking at their faces, though, it seemed like they could be someone on the street today, especially the dirt young kids who frequent Rainbo.

When we left, we spied a huge Marc Jacobs ad staring M.I.A. Somehow she knew that we were headed to thenew Bucktown store, which was a mix of cheap Marc key-chains and tote bags and $400 dresses. I left empty-handed and went to Urban where I purchased an adult wallet with actual slots for my ID and miscellaneous cards. Previously, I’d used a coin-purse with an audio tape on it that my sister poked fun at me for.

Later that night, I was reminded why I hate new wallets: I couldn’t get my ID out to show the doorman at the Continental. Having come from a friend’s birthday party where I drank two glasses of wine, Jamie and I found it hilarious as we both tried to dig the ID out of its gold and plastic confines. The doorguy was not sharing in the fun.

Oddly enough, both parties we went to that evening were birthday parties for older gay men. Roscoe’s must have been dead that night! Jason’s loft parties are always entertaining, with a mix of his Time Out colleagues and cute gay boyfriends with hands in each others back pockets. We brought him cupcakes for his 34th. We had to head out to Jamie’s bosses’ soiree around midnight, and were a minority amidst the gaggle of men who had taken over the bar.

Tonight should be another good bar night, for a different kind of party: the first Judy Bloomers book club meeting is tonight at Map Room, one of my other favorite places in the city that I certainly don’t get to enough. I suggested the place after talking to Jamie at length about her upcoming story about liquor and literature meeting in the city. It’ll be a good one.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on January 28, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I saw an Henry Darger exhibit a few years ago with Holly. I was so intrigued by him. And the story behind him has haunted me ever since.

    Gosh I love you. You are not mindless and you actually care about going to places other than bars and shows.
    Never stop being you.

  2. j said, on January 28, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    haha. “gosh i love you” too.

    and you are “so totally cute,” as my so totally gay boss says.
    our weekend: i was intuit. get it? 😉

  3. Alicia said, on January 31, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    that picture kicks ace!!!


Leave a Reply

