trish bendix

Why do I feel like we’re in ‘Reality Bites’?

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on January 2, 2008

I can’t believe that 200 Cigaretteswas nowhere to be found on cable yesterday. It’s the greatest New Year’s movie, and I should probably own the DVD, but was counting on my DVR to deliver. I should have asked Candace to bring it with her, as she supplied her copy for last year’s viewing. Unfortunately, she doesn’t live off Western anymore–she lives off of the state of Indiana.

At least she came to visit, with Johnny in tow. Kevin and his beau, Brian, came down from Minneapolis as well, and our apartment was sleepover central for three days and two nights. We had a private NYE gathering that was most likely the best I’ve ever had. We drank cheap, danced to music of our choosing, made out at midnight without bumping into sweaty strangers, and didn’t have to find a cab at 3 a.m. I much prefer board games and a private bathroom to the overpriced company of others on such a holiday.

The weather was awful yesterday, when most people stay inside and recover. However Kevin wanted to show Brian around the neighborhood. We only made it out twice–to eat breakfast at Hollywood Grill and to eat dinner at Jerry’s. Brian will have to come back when it’s above 6 degrees.

2008 is official, which means a couple of things: the gym is going to be packed for the first month, I’m surely going to write the date wrong several times, and I have to relive the rehashing of many events I didn’t care much about in the first place. I suppose I don’t want to be doomed to repeat it, though, so I will always remember Paris Hilton suffered through a 23-day jail sentence, and I fell and sprained my wrist while chasing Stella around in the street this summer.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. riotgrrrlrevolution said, on January 3, 2008 at 2:53 am

    I haven’t even seen the entire film, but the portion I did see of 200 Cigarettes (which was a good portion & included the end) was amazing. It’s on my to-own list as well.

    happy 2008. 🙂

  2. jamiemurnane said, on January 4, 2008 at 6:22 am

    stella’s new year’s resolution is to not get loose and run around in the middle of the street again. she now prefers to just laying in the snow until you take her inside. easier on your wrist. best new years eva!

  3. onehotpotato said, on January 10, 2008 at 1:19 am

    highlight of 2007 should include our coffee breaks. if only we could have gotten that boombox, i know we could have gotten some strangers to dance on break with us on michigan avenue.


Leave a Reply

