trish bendix

Queen of apology

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on December 19, 2007

The first time I went to SXSW in 2002, I helped with some Filter Mag stuff on my off-time and they gave me this t-shirt with The Sounds on it. At the time, they were a new band on American soil, and from what I’d heard of their album, I liked. The shirt fit perfectly and therefore became one of my favorites–it was red with white silhouettes of the band member’s heads and it was totally soft. I didn’t really care what was on it–I might possibly have worn it even if it said Toby Keith (easier said than done).

I never purchased The Sounds’ 2006 album, Dying to Say This to You, but heard good things. Then, like the shirt, they kind of disappeared, and I didn’t give them much thought again, until I saw they were coming into town this month. The band’s frontwoman, Maja Ivarsson, is bisexual, so I thought they would be a good choice for next month’s SoundCheck. They played at the Vic last night, and Maja was decked out in hot pants and a leather jacket with a pair of black heels–she’s a total babe. What she may lack a little in vocal range she certainly makes for in performance, like a sassy/crass Mick Jagger who likes to crawl on the drum kit and touch her tits or dangle the microphone between her legs. It was impressive.

After the show, Jamie and I met Michelle at Clarke’s for nostalgia’s sake. We decided to forgo the bar as the night before was a Black Ladies show at Empty Bottle‘s free Monday, and there was a little too much fun had with cheap beer and Crow’s Nest reunion party 2007.

I have accomplished two goals this week otherwise: I sent in my EMP proposal (fingers crossed) and locked in my ballot for Idolator. Now to attack my second to last story due in 2007  and a new year of assignments shall commence.

Leave a Reply

