trish bendix

We fell through the ice when we tried not to slip

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on December 17, 2007

If anyone ever wanted a reason to think I’m uncool, here it is: I once broke my collar bone while crowd surfing at a Verve Pipe concert. I was in 8th grade and The Verve Pipe were flying high off “The Freshman,” so the State Theater in Kalamazoo was sold out. (The band’s singer/guitarist Brian Vander Ark likes to tell the story at shows about how he wrote the song in Kalamazoo). Being a Michigan-based band, I saw them play several times, whether on purpose or intentionally. They were the go-to band for alt-rock touring shows who needed a local opener (well them and Mustard Plug.)

My senior year of high school (and here’s keeping a long story short) my mom won a contest to go out to Los Angeles for the premiere of the film Rockstar starring Mark Wahlberg and Jennifer Aniston. Brian Vander Ark was in the film as a band member, and TVP also lent their song “Colorful” to the soundtrack, so he was at the screening and the after party. Despite also seeing Marilyn Manson and LL Cool J there, my mom was forever after a TVP fan, so when she was coming to town the same weekend they were playing the double door, it was kismet. She’s always bugging Jamie and I to take her to a concert, so we figured this was our shot at both being mildly entertained.

I’ve always wished I was at the Double Door in the ’90s, before Liz Phair hired the Matrix and D’arcy left the Pumpkins. Luckily, it was the 1990s at the Double Door on Saturday night. I saw a girl with a Kay Hanley haircut, dudes wearing button-up plaid shirts and throwing up Arsenio Hall fist-pumps. There was a 30ish woman wearing a tube top, all dressed up for the evening, and a gaggle of fans to my left that kept screaming “EAST LANSING!” for no reason I can figure out than they probably went to Michigan State and that the band needed to know.

My mom had a great time. She kept turning to me and saying “I love this one!” and “Can you burn me this CD again?”

They played all of the songs everyone knew, and a superfan I took a video of in the front row kept pointing at Brian as if to say “YOU!!!!!” and Brian eventually just started pointing back. I’ll have to put the video of his undying devotion and devil horns on Youtube.

The rest of the weekend was faux-Christmas, as Kate, Kevin and Jamie won’t be able to celebrate with my family this year. Saturday and Sunday were spent shopping, the former spent on Michigan Avenue, an awful idea yet inevitable. I bought my mom some Lancome make-up and brushes pack and a top from Akira. We also bought her a spa day at Fingers & Toes which she utilized Sunday before we completed our shopping in Wicker Park. We bought my sister a book on pregnancy by “The Carrie Bradshaw of pregnancy,” a shirtdress at Akira and two bracelets from Una Mae’s. Kevin received a Kerasotes gift card since he’s obsessed with going to see movies, and a t-shirt from Urban.

It’s the most fun I’ve had giving than receiving, another sure sign I’m becoming an adult. (Another sure sign I’m still 24: I enjoyed writing tags like “To Sue from Kevin: You’re the one I want to have my lovechild with.”)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on December 17, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    hurry up and finish working so we can spend our AA gift cards already. burning a hole in my pockets!!!!


Leave a Reply

