trish bendix

That’s a lot to process

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on December 9, 2007

I’m officially twenty-four, and I celebrated many different ways over the weekend. I received some great gifts–pre-purchased yoga classes from Nature Yoga Sanctuary from Jamie, a Quimby’s gift certificate from Megan, some MAC make-up from my sister that has now ruined me for life as I will never go back to Walgreens’ cosmetics again. She bought me this amazing set of Royal Assets eye shadows that comes in a gold compact. Believe me, I never thought I’d be this excited about eye shadow, I don’t know what’s come over me. I even wrote about it as one of my favorite thing gift ideas when Nightspots asked me to come up with something for their holiday issue as a member of the “community.” I figured make-up was a good suggestion for femmes and any other queens that read the weekly.

Friday, Jamie and I went to visit my sister at the jewelry store she works at downtown and got some great silver and gold rings. I’ve never been a ring person, but this one caught my eye and has yet to annoy my finger. It’s a two-piece ring with the gold and silver fitting into each other. After I saw it, I refused any other band.

We had dinner at the Pasta Bowl, a place we used to frequent for its inexpensive but utterly awesome Italian. The fettuccine alfredo was a favorite of mine until I started my healthy eating/gym plan a year and a half ago. I ate what I could in remembrance on this special occasion, and it was enough to last me another year or two.

We then made our way over to the Lincoln Park Zoo for Zoo Lights. Almost six years I’ve lived in this city and have yet to visit the zoo or its annual display of Christmas decor. We drank hot chocolate and made our way around the zoo to see the penguins, polar bear, and families of monkeys. It wasn’t too cold, and the lights and holiday music made the slush coming into my boots less of an issue.

 

Jamie and I ended the evening watching Year of the Dog, which made me cry. I never cry when watching movies, but when the beagle pup Pencil dies, it’s damn near impossible to not have a nervous break-down like Molly Shannon does in the film. The acting was good, but the script itself wasn’t as great as I’d hoped. It was almost like the writers weren’t sure what to do with Peggy (Shannon) after her life falls apart for the second time. But who would? It reminded me a lot of Mike White’s other film, The Good Girl, where the lead female character comes to no real resolution of the problem at hand.

Yesterday, I used my Quimby’s gift certificate, and purchased some reading material. The new issue of Other is the Dead Magazine issue and pays tribute to now defunct pubs like Clamor, Kitchen Sink, and Flatter! It also has a piece on Punk Planet and what it did for those involved. As a past intern of the magazine, I was sad to hear of its demise, but it also didn’t come as a surprise. It seemed to have achieved what it could, and it chose to bust out instead of fade away. Living in Chicago, I’ve heard a lot about its passing. Now it is the third publication on my resume that is deceased (R.I.P. Pistil and Rockpile.)

Another great piece in Other was a profile of Bitch, the ’70s and ’80s feminist music newsletter, not to be confused with the Bitch magazine of the ’90s and today. I first learned about Bitch in one of my favorite reference and inspiration books of all time, Rock She Wrote by Ann Powers and Evelyn McDonnell, which featured one of Lori Twerksy’s writings on teenage females as an audience. The eulogies in Other for Bitch and another great mags that no longer exist left me feeling a little sad for print, but also thankful for the Internet. I’m a reader and write for both, so I can only hope that they can coexist and help the indie media survive.

I also bought the new Make/Shift (run by ex-Clamor and Kitchen Sink contributor, Jessica Hoffman,) and the Fall issue of Girls Like Us, which is one of my favorite magazines. It’s a must for any queer girl that’s into art, photography, and interviews with icons. This month: Emma Gaze of Electrelane, Edwige Belmore, and Jane Ward. A gift certificate and birthday weekend well spent.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Veegs said, on December 10, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    yay! I’m glad the gift certificate added joy to your birthday!!!!!


Leave a Reply

