trish bendix

It’s not butch, it’s common sense

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on November 26, 2007

My extended holiday weekend in Michigan went as planned: I consumed massive amounts of caffeine, a couple of beers, and family time. My sister couldn’t make it home (she works in retail) so it was quieter than usual, but Stella tried to make up for it by chasing the cats and demanding food from whomever was in the kitchen. Of course, her grandma obliged.

As my birthday is approaching, my mom surprised Jamie and I with a massage at Serenity spa. My masseuse, Rebecca, was too interesting and I barely remember what the massage felt like because we talked the entire time. She’s a radical parent who told me about how she’s “unschooling” her 11-month-old and I found it totally fascinating. Little Leila is in playgroups with kids of all ages so she doesn’t get stuck with kids who were simply born in the same year, and she’s also going unvaccinated as so many kids get sick from the preventive measures. Basically everything Rebecca said made total sense to me, and I could see why she was out of place in Michigan and soon moving back out West where she came from.

Our spa day included a “style.” Jamie’s hair came out fluffy as her stylist thought her asymmetrical layers and rattail was a fucked up hairdo and didn’t know what to do with it. Luckily, my straight hair is simple and I instructed her that yes, I do need my bangs and just blow drying it will be fine.

We watched a couple of movies, including the obligatory holiday viewing of National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. It’s my dad’s favorite, and we always end up watching it before Christmas. Now that football season is over, he’s finally able to relax a little bit, though much of his agenda still includes watching football. He still had time to share some of his witty banter with us, thankfully. I don’t know where he comes up with half of his one liners, but I wish I had more time to come up with them for myself so I didn’t have Jamie and Kate call me out on my Dadisms.

The drive was rainy on the way in, but pretty clear on the way back. It started to flurry a bit by Kalamazoo, but we had planned a stop at my aunt’s so we were able to sit it out and eat instead. Stella ran around with her cousin, Simon, and we chatted with another coffee before getting back on the road. Leaving a little later for the last stretch of highway was a good idea as we also met no traffic from the holiday or Bears’ game. It almost seemed too easy–so the windshield fluid decided not to come out, even when we stopped to buy more and Jamie tried to be a mechanic and figure things out under the hood. We eventually gave up, and by we, I mean she. We were able to get home just fine.

So now it’s back to reality: deadlines, paying for myself, and the CTA.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on November 26, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    the highlight of serenity spa for me:”you let your friend cut your hair, too? … Oh, this is…longer?” duuuur.. hair stylists in michigan are still trying to get the “jennifer aniston” down. good thing i had my headband.

  2. cmoney said, on December 6, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    the picture of your parents is cute, but stellie out the window takes the cake 🙂


Leave a Reply

