trish bendix

We’re so creative, so much more

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on November 14, 2007

I’ve been on a nostalgic kick lately, revisiting music and videos from the 1990s when I discovered “alternative” music and thought I was awesome reading my Circus magazine. I’ve been reminiscing about the days when “120 Minutes” was on MTV and there were women in bands like Pixies, Hole, Garbage, Veruca Salt, and Sonic Youth readily available (at least for MTV standards.) And though it took me longer to find out about bands like Sleater-Kinney and riot grrrl bands, I do wonder what young girls now have to listen to. At least they have the Internet, but searches for “girl bands” probably don’t bring up as much quality as it could. Maybe I can do a “Never Been Kissed”-esque expose where I go back to high school and find out what the kids are listening to while slipping CDs in their backpacks or putting playlists on their iPods. Maybe they don’t need me and I’m not giving them enough credit.

Tomorrow I’m going to see Sarah Bettensfor my next SoundCheck column. She used to front K’s Choice, a ’90s band I was into despite having no idea what it was like to be an addict. I’ve been listening to her most recent stuff and though she has some PSA-like song about kids using guns, her voice is still the same and I anticipate that it might make her show enjoyable.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Megan said, on November 15, 2007 at 5:52 am

    K’s choice did a cover of an amazing song. I heard it in one of my audio classes because they used a crazy mic. i think it was 4 mics in one. I know I wrote the name of the song down somewhere, but when trying to find it in my notes, I was unsuccessful.
    Maybe you can slip that into the conversation and find out for me…

    hahaha


Leave a Reply

