trish bendix

Idealism is guilty middle-class bullshit.

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on November 12, 2007

On my way to work this morning, I noticed ladybugs flying in the air and attaching themselves to the windows and walls on Michigan Avenue. No one else seemed to see them, or at least paid them no mind. They must be enjoying this last influx of warmish weather.

The weather was perfect for walking to Sonotheque last night to see Megan model in a Vidal Sassoon hair show. She was part of a modern theme and walked so very model-esque. We shake our fists at the 5’6″ industry standard. The show itself was great, with some very cool cuts, free sushi/veggie/brownie buffet, and only one model tripping but catching herself before she fell.

Before bed, Jamie and I watched In the Land of Women, an awful movie about Adam Brody trying to play someone other than himself and failing at it. The premise of it sounded good, but the writing was just so bad. I spent the entire time expressing my frustations on how these relationships and conversations would never happen, and the location doesn’t even look like suburban Michigan–I would know.

I think I disliked it so much because I had just seen Little Children the day before, a beautiful suburban themed movie that was well-written and acted, despite there apparently being several differences from the novel. I need to read it now, especially since the character of Sarah (played by Kate Winslet) is apparently a bisexual feminist in the book. You don’t get that sense from the film, but there’s so much going on already it probably would have been a distraction.

Perhaps I should rent Suburbia to round out my festival. I used to love that movie when I was a rebellious young teen, before I met Giovanni Ribisi in a gas station and he was quiet, shy and scared of me wanting to shake his hand.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amanda Ferri said, on November 12, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Tom Perrotta is one of my favorite authors, if not maybe my favorite depending on when you ask me. I highly recommend Little Children, I think it is the only book that I have ever read more than twice within a year.


Leave a Reply

