trish bendix

MooMoo, please come home

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on November 9, 2007

I officially have a cold, and so my coffee this evening had to be switched to a spicy apple cider, on account of my sore throat. Jamie and I went to sell some CDs at Reckless, and on our walk realized how much the neighborhood is changing. There are several new stores in and out on Milwaukee Ave. and there’s a peephole in the wooden planks covering up where Filter used to be in the Flat Iron Building. Inside, they are preparing for another bank. It’s as depressing as the sudden rush of Christmas decor in stores.

There were a number of LOST signs posted about a Shih tzu named MooMoo, who was stolen from her home. Every time we passed one, we grew sadder thinking about people who steal family pets. MooMoo’s mom will pay a $5000 reward, no questions asked.

My first music column for AfterEllen is up today. After a lot of cheesy, awful title ideas and some others too vague or long, we went with Sound Check. I’ve gotten good feedback from some of the readers, and some suggestions for future columns, but no hate mail yet, thankfully. If you know of any gay ladies making some good music, hit me up.

Speaking of gay ladies, this weekend begins the Reeling Film Festival. I can’t believe it’s been a year since the last one, when I was working on it. It’ll be nice to be an attendee this year, though I have yet to narrow down which screenings I want to go to and correlate them with pals. Unfortunately, Reeling continues to have a heavy male focus, but films like Itty Bitty Titty Committee will bring the girls out I’m sure, especially since Guinevere Turner will be at the showing. But at the same time across town is Quearborn & Perversion: An Early History of Lesbian and Gay Chicago. Damn, will that come out on Netflix?

Leave a Reply

