trish bendix

This is our town of Halloween

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on October 25, 2007

I am the ultimate last minute Halloweener. I haven’t had a great idea in years. I always dress up, but it’s never planned, at least not consciously. Last year, I was a cowgirl with the grabbing of a flannel shirt, bandanna, pair of boots and blacked out tooth. I was hoping to have something prepared for this year, but so far, I’m uninspired.

Yesterday I went around Wicker Park with Rachel and Jamie to find Rachel’s outfit. She and Kristen are dressing as strongmen, so we perused multiple stores we probably wouldn’t normally go into. We were lured into Batteries Not Included by the promise of costumes, which happened to be less slutty than Halloween USA’s selection. I was baffled by the amount of penis items sold there, such as water bottles and pens. It reminded me more of Spencer’s Gifts than Early 2 Bed or Tulip. I suppose that’s why those shops exist.

Rachel was able to find a one-sie at American Apparel, which is probably one of the most expensive places to find one part of your Halloween costume. I think I’ll hit up some thrift stores this weekend after the pumpkin farm. Perhaps I’ll be inspired by something on a hayride or from the harvest market.

Jamie’s story on haunted Chicago tours is in this week’s issue of Time Out, which is dedicated to all things Halloween.

Leave a Reply

