trish bendix

Hope you guessed my name

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on October 24, 2007

Jamie and I utilized our rainy Monday evening to go see Lars and the Real Girl at Landmark. I’m a Ryan Gosling fan, so I was especially excited to see his performance. The whole film was stunning and unpredictable. Naturally I spent part of my day today listening to interviews with the directors, writers and actors about the film. The most interesting anecdote I found out is that the cast of the film treated Bianca (the real doll) as a person on set, as they do on camera, even apologizing to her if they get too close and almost poke her in the eye.

Tonight after work, I met with Megan and Jamie to eat some downtown dinner, a coffee, and take advantage of the MCA‘s free day to see the new music/art exhibition, “Sympathy for the Devil: Art and Rock and Roll Since 1967.” It wasn’t as huge as I imagined, but it certainly steered away from the obvious pieces of rock art it could have included. There was a lot of Sonic Youth and Velvet Underground pieces, but also some more obscure references to less accessible acts like Throbbing Gristle. It was also very male-heavy in work featured, but unfortunately that’s not much of a surprise.

The MCA is easily one of my favorite places in the city, but sometimes free Tuesdays aren’t worth the crowding. Apparently so many of us share a love of the museum and being cheap.

 

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Veegs said, on October 25, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    I look like a teeny tiny nerd!!!


Leave a Reply

