trish bendix

Thanks for the memories

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on October 22, 2007

Aside from my visits to Alliance, my weekend was a little different than planned. Saturday, I had a lunch meeting with Gina of Riot Grrrl Ink before her Ladyfest panel. It was great as we’re definitely on the same queer arts and activism wave-length, and I’m extremely excited to be part of the RGI family as I’ll be their PR gal (first project: punk rock feminist coloring book.)

Sadly, I couldn’t attend the Partyline/Bunny Rabbit show that evening, because Jamie was asked to cover the Fall Out Boy concert at All State, and I wouldn’t make her go alone. We traipsed out to Rosemont yet again and caught the tail end of Plain White T’s, got beers during most of Gym Class Heroes (we tolerated what we could, and Travis kept telling 12 yr old fans they could lift up their shirts or would be thrown off his tour bus if they had nasty feet) and settled in for FOB, who were surprisingly much like they were when my pal Veegs had me go with her to see them at Fireside and the Knights of Columbus in Arlington Heights four years ago–except there were 25,000 more people there. I was jealous that Michelle was seeing Brand New at the same time, and that Bunny Rabbit was in the city and I was missing the action, but the concert was decent enough that I didn’t feel I wasted an entire evening like I had after the Maroon 5 concert.

However, in my attempts to be fair and inclusive for my new music column on AfterEllen, I’m going to be attending shows that I wouldn’t necessarily go to on my own accord, much like Jamie didn’t request to review Fall Out Boy at one of the biggest venues in Chicagoland. But it was good for nostalgic purposes–it made me miss being so excited about seeing a band live that I felt the need to make a customized fan T, scream at the mere movement of a mic stand by a stagehand, and sing along as loudly as I could, professing my love and undying fanship that would last forever and ever.

I’m not sure at what point it changed for me, that concerts could ultimately be disappointing or that I could notice mistakes in the set, or ultimately be underwhelmed. I think it accompanied the idea that you can have more than one favorite band, but it’s possible to spread yourself too thin at the same time.

In other, completely unrelated news, congratulations to my Dad for his team making it to playoffs again this year.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jamiemurnane said, on October 22, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    go heritage!

  2. Mezi said, on October 26, 2008 at 5:21 am

    It broke my heart when I had my first concert I viewed as a bad concert – that was the first time I was aware that a concert COULD be bad. It didn’t accompany the realization that you could have more than one favorite or be spread to thin – it came with the realization that my favorite band was HUMAN and had shitty days like everyone.

    I’m going to a show next week that is most of the attendees’ first show, most likely. Seeing their enthusiasm for the show on boards is making me realize that I’ve grown past the point where I get that excited, but it makes me nostalgic for it.

    I know. Oldpost is old. XD


Leave a Reply

