trish bendix

Check my email write a song and make a few phone calls

Posted in Uncategorized by trishbendix on January 14, 2008

I recently read Jim Derogatis’ blog and happened upon his post about Juno. His stance is that the film is “anti-rock” and that Ellen Page is too young and out of touch to decide her character would listen to “the intentionally primitive and infantile sounds recorded by a 35-year-old musician,” referring to Kimya Dawson. He goes on to say that Dawson’s music plays as glib and insincere.

Many commenters attempted to strike back at Jim for his opinion of the film and its indie rock soundtrack, and Kimya herself was among them:

Hi. I don’t care about your opinion of the movie or my music. there are plenty of things I like that other people hate and plenty of things that people are crazy about that I think are painfully annoying, so whatever.I do want to comment on the lyric you quoted as glib and insincere. I actually read every single email and myspace message and livejournal comment I get myself. I have no staff checking stuff for me. I personally write back to every kid in crisis that I hear from. I care a lot about people. I am in the process of setting up a support forum for people in crisis. I have personally driven to a fans home and driven her to a rehabilitation center when she emailed me asking for help. I can’t control how people perceive my intent, but I must try to clear up misconceptions about something I take so seriously.Maybe you should read about why…
http://users.livejournal.com/kimya_dawson_/275949.html

Amen, sister friend. My opinion: the music works, and I don’t feel the need to dissect it based on the original meaning of the song and how old Kimya is. If I listened to music by 17-year-olds when I was 17, I would have been stuck with some pop stars and the local bands that covered Blink 182 (poorly).

I watched another musical film this weekend: Once. I thought it was pretty good, and the music worked well with the film, though I wouldn’t listen to it otherwise. It’s a little too Damien Rice-lite, though I’ve never been a fan of the Frames anyway. Despite that, I did like the story and thought the ending was perfect–some love stories are better when the happily ever after is less happy.

Last night, Poeta took Jamie and I to see “Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind,” which I’ve always wanted to see. I went once and it was sold out, but didn’t stay long enough to get pizza.

The show was hilarious, and I especially liked play #16, “Hot Lesbian Semi-Historical Love Vignettes Starring Barbie and Barbie.” An example:

Barbie 1: “If I was Gertrude Stein, and you were Alice B. Toklas, I would take chocolate and smear it all over your fat rolls. And then I’d write a poem about it.”

(Barbie make-out session)

Barbie 2: “Oh my god! Oh my god!”

Barbie 1: “You’re so French!”

I would definitely recommend it, and go see it again. Afterward, I went home to watch a less entertaining show called “The L Word.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

